What We Can Learn From A Child

I received an email post from a friend a while back that had to do with running in the rain and feeling a spiritual cleansing. A few days ago it was raining and as I backed out of the driveway I noticed a young boy riding his bicycle. He didn’t seem the least bit bothered that he  was in the rain and getting drenched.

It made me remember the email. I wondered why as a child being in the rain felt awesome but suddenly we grow up and are afraid to get one drop on us? We will use the mighty umbrella or protect ourselves from Mother Nature’s  bath with any means possible. Is it for vanity reasons that suddenly rain droplets soaking our skin is taboo? I have to admit, I was in my car, dry and protected, but I felt kind of envious that day for not being the one enjoying droplets from Heaven. We become so uptight as adults about things that we enjoyed in our innocence as children.

There’s a case to be made about maturity and adulthood. I agree with that. But do we have to always be so dadgum grownup all the time? Can’t we take a break from adulthood just every now and again? I have decided  to do that. The next time it rains I am going to feel the raindrops against my skin. I am going to allow myself to get a spiritual cleansing, and I am going to smile at the heavens pouring down on me. Just once I am going to be a kid again.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sylvia Ney
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 14:48:19

    Maybe we’ll even have a chance to play in the snow this year!

    Reply

  2. Lacey
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 20:20:34

    Thank you for teaching me to play in the rain!!! 🙂 I LOVE YOU!!! Let’s play in the rain together sometime

    Reply

Leave a Reply

