Check It Off My Bucket List

Today was a first for me. I can check it off of my bucket list. Okay, honestly, I don’t have a bucket list. But if I did I would be checking off what I did today. I spent the day at a school for an author visit. I envisioned myself doing this for many years. I knew it pretty much came with the territory of being a children’s book writer. You get asked to be a speaker(especially if you are also a teacher). I must admit, I wasn’t expecting it to happen so soon. I have only been a published author for a little over two months now. But the opportunity came and I took the plunge. My presentation needs some tweaking now that I have done it. I made notes during my lunch break of what I need to do differently next time.   I prayed for a good outcome. I didn’t want to let anyone down.

I wished Randy could have been there with me. He couldn’t so I did something to help me feel his presence. I wore the last gift he ever gave me. It was a string of pearls for our thirtieth wedding anniversary. They have a little weight to them so I could feel them around my neck all day. To some, it may seem corny. To me, it felt comforting.   

I drove home with tears in my eyes knowing I had jumped the first hurdle of author visits. I conquered the anxiety about it and fulfilled another dream. Ah! What a feeling!

It made me think of something. There are people who go through life with no goals and  no dreams to fulfill. How sad they will never know the feeling of accomplishing even the little things in life you set out to do.  It’s one of the things I tried to tell the students today. If you want to accomplish things in life, have a goal and make a plan to carry it out. The difference between a dream and a goal are the action steps you will take to make it  reality. When you do, the pride you feel will be unbelievable.   

Maybe it’s time for me to make that bucket list after all.

photo from google images

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 18:02:22

    Mom, I am so proud of you. You were in my thoughts and prayyers all day! I love you and couldn’t be happier for you! I know daddy was with you all day and is just as proud as we are!! :0)
    Love,
    Min

    Reply

  2. Lacey
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 18:20:53

    Yay mama!!! I’m so proud of you!! I know Daddy is smiling down on you and telling everyone up there “That’s her. That’s my wife! That’s my Peg-a-Leg!” haha!! I love you and I’m so proud of you!!!

    Reply

  3. elleswim
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 19:28:37

    That’s wonderful! Congratulations! We have a few authors come and speak with the students at my elementary school a few times a year. The children get so excited to see published authors and hear their stories. Meeting the authors really helps to motivate them and inspires them to write some wonderful stories of their own.

    Reply

  4. Laurie Kolp
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 19:59:33

    I’m so proud of you too, Peggy. I think it’s very special you wore the pearls…Randy was with you I just know it!

    Reply

  5. Linda G.
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 14:08:04

    Oh Peggy,you did it once again ,touched my heart .You do have a way with words that are so gentle and meaningful.Yes ,you are recieving assistance from Heaven ,they are all cheering you on and doing a great job ,look all you have accomplished so far !! Keep it going ,we’re lovin it !!

    Reply

  6. Jess
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 15:28:59

    Not corny at all. Your posts always bring tears tomy eyes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

