My Heart’s Memory

There is a French Proverb that says, “Gratitude is the heart’s memory.”  I never realized just how true these words were until this weekend. I had book signings this weekend for my first and newly released book, “Queen of the Castle.”   You never know how many people will show up for events like this. I was hoping at least a few friends would come out for my Open House or for one of the four scheduled times at our church following each service. I was not expecting to see the outpouring of love and support that I did. (Okay, I’m crying now just thinking about it.) It was the most touching experience I have ever had. This book was begun about 14 years ago. There were numerous setbacks with it because of other things having to take precedence. It was my baby, so to speak, and this weekend I was able to show it to  people for the first time. I have to say, however, that  this weekend did not  go without  a bit of sadness. I would have given anything for my sweet husband to have been a big part of this. Gosh, how he would have loved it! I could have seen him greeting everyone with his pure Cajun accent, having numerous conversations,  telling  stories and making many people laugh. One thing for certain, he would have talked constantly about how proud he was of me and my accomplishment. That’s because he was.  My thoughts of him stayed with me all weekend. I love you Ran!

I have another big signing in early October. This time I will be in my hometown, hopefully seeing many family members and friends, some of whom it has been 30 years or more since we have seen each other. Thanks to social networking, we have since made contact and it’s great to speak with them again. There are  a few whom I have never met, but have become good friends  (again through social networking and my dear husband).   

 I have always said life is all about God, family, and friends. If you have those in your life, then you are truly wealthy. This weekend, I was a very wealthy woman.(Yes, I’m still crying.I need tissue now.)

  Please visit my website @ www.peggyclement.com for more information in the book.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda G.
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 20:59:35

    Oh Peggy,we are so happy for you ,words can not describe .You have worked so hard on this ,God knew it would be a success,that’s why he gave you so many road blocks to test you.And you have passed the test,you are an insperation to all of us ,never give up !!Thank you for being my Friend !! Love ya ,,,Linda G.

    Reply

  2. lynn
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 08:33:34

    I just had to stop by to say hi, because I am a fellow Queen of the Castle 🙂 Best of luck with your book. It sounds like it has been a true labor of love.

    Reply

  3. Mindy
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 17:22:59

    Mama,
    I am SOOOO proud of you and what you have accomplished! You are the talk of the town and I am proud to call you my mom! You have worked so hard for this and no one deserves this more than you. I love you,
    Mindy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

