Summer Doldrums

I had so many plans of things I wanted to do this summer. It mostly pertained to my writing. And I must say that for the first two weeks  I was very productive. I finished up a manuscript and got it in the mail to a publisher. (I’m  still hoping for good news on that one I might add. )I bought a few magazines and have done quite a bit of reading  on different topics. But then things came to a halt. I found myself no longer writing. I  could make excuses that my air conditioner  broke and forced me to spend 2 nights in a hotel and another night out of town at my daughter’s just to survive from the heat. This indeed happened.  The air is working once more  but I’m not. I am enjoying the lazy days of summer. But the guilt is getting to me. I am looking for the motivation, the jumpstart, if you will, to get me into the swing of things. Any suggestions on how to self motivate?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie Kolp
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 07:19:57

    Peggy~ I know how you feel…sometimes I feel like I’m on a seesaw. What helps me stay motivated is my poetry support group. We write and share poetry everyday and encourage each other. Have you thought about getting into some sort of critique group? ~laurie

    Reply

  2. Jess
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 17:52:30

    I feel the same way.
    You need a contract on an unfinished book. That’ll get you motivated! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lacey
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 12:16:25

    God gave you this amazing talent. Use it to glorify His Name. 🙂 Plus, I really want to be able to give my clients ‘Shifting Sand’ one day lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

