A Special Sunday Visit

\”Healing Begins\” by Tenth Avenue North

I went to the cemetery early this evening before going to church. It’s eight months today that my dear husband went to be with our Lord. While getting ready, I asked for a sign from Randy to  let me know he was alright. As I drove up to the cemetery I noticed several people there which is unusual, because almost of the times when I go, I am alone.  When I walked over to the burial site, there was a cool breeze blowing. The sounds of birds chirping provided a soothing serenade. Randy’s headstone is right under a tree and was completely surrounded by shade. I couldn’t help but think that this was the exact type of weather we both loved and enjoyed together. I straightened the floral arrangements and looked down to notice half of a robin’s egg shell on the ground right next to me. Apparently the baby robin had hatched and the egg shell had fallen from the nest in the tree. Robins have always meant a sign of spring and a sign of new life for me.   Looking around me I noticed that, ironically, the cemetery was full of life and new beginnings today. Was this the sign I had asked for? Was he trying to tell me that the cycle of life goes on and he was okay? I told him I loved him and then walked to my car. As I left there was song playing on the radio with the lyrics, “This is where the healing begins”. I never heard that song before even though that station is always set on my radio.  I couldn’t help but smile when I heard it. I am one that, quite frankly, doesn’t believe in coincidences. I believe that things happen for a reason. I believe I had my sign. I felt good about my visit.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda G.
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 22:25:06

    Peggy ,that was a very touching experience you had,it did my heart good to read it.Randy will always be with you and he’ll always leave you signs ,you may not always notice ,but they are there .He would never leave you alone ,he loved you so,he’ll always be there for you .God bless you ,,,,Linda G.

    Reply

  2. Laurie Kolp
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 06:02:04

    Peggy~ You did get your sign! More than once, too. Let that healing begin, my friend!

    Reply

  3. jess
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 07:37:33

    Beautiful post. I agree with Linda that the signs will always be there. I pray you always notice them and feel loved and refreshed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

