Obligation or Offering?

I attended a Christian writer’s conference last weekend  at East Texas Baptist University in Marshall, Texas. I was privileged to hear  literary agent, Terry Burns, speak on “Using Fiction to Spread God’s Word”. One of the things which struck me  was when we were asked whether or not our writing is an obligation or an offering. He said it was important to know the difference. An obligation is a calling from God. An offering is  having the desire to write. For those who believe that writing is a calling from God (myself included), you have to remember that God will use you in his own time. And then there was the light bulb moment for me. He asked us to think about how long it took God to prepare Abraham, Moses, the disciples, and even Jesus himself before he was ready for them to do his work? God is not only working  on your writing,  he’s working on you too. That hit home for me. I came home motivated , but no longer  in a huge rush to get things finished. I know this young adult novel is  God’s calling for me. He will make it happen in his own time when he is ready. I know this could mean one person reading it or thousands. Only he knows the answer to that.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jess
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 20:20:18

    Good post. I love the “called to write” or “offering one’s writing as a gift to God” lesson. I had an assignment to write a business profile for one of the chamber of commerce magazines. When I went to the interview, the lady and I talked for a brief moment. Something I said clued her in that I’m a Christian and she got very excited, saying she’d prayed that whoever interviewed her was. She felt free to express her Christian business practices, knowing I’d write the story the way she wanted. Unfortunately, the story was not looked upon kindly by my bosses, but … at least her story got told her way. I felt like God really used me to get her message across. I felt as though her story was her offering and that I’d been called to write it. I’m always amazed when I can clearly see God’s hand in something like that.

    Reply

  2. pclement
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 14:26:34

    I love when you are talking professionally to people and then realize through conversation that they themselves are a Christian. It’s funny how just the simplest words can clue you in on that.

    Reply

  3. pprmint777
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 13:54:04

    Peggy–You left a comment on my blog, 777 Peppermint Place, recently (the comment landed in the spam pile and I just now found it). You asked if I were going to this conference. Yes, I was supposed to be there, but wound up in the hospital instead. I’m really sorry I didn’t get a chance to meet you. I’d signed up for each of Terry’s classes, including this one, so I’m certain our paths would’ve crossed. Perhaps next year, if God allows.

    May He bless you in all you do!

    Linda Yezak
    (pprmint777)

    Reply

  4. Bonnie S. Calhoun
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 14:26:27

    I agree totally with Terry’s observations, but then again I always do! He’s my agent, mentor, friend, and a very wise servant of God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

