God’s Alarm Clock

I said yesterday I would make my next blog the story behind my Young Adult novel so I am keeping my promise. I’ll try to give the condensed version on this blog . About five years ago I was diagnosed with Lyme Disease. One of the many debilitating symptoms was the mental fog you live in. It’s difficult to concentrate and even more difficult to be creative. Before this, I always had a quick wit and could think of ideas and comebacks without much effort.  But suddenly that ceased to exist. I could do my job and that was about it. After a year or so I surrendered to the fact that this part of my life was over and my writing career would not go on as planned.  As much as I wanted it, there were other things in my life I had to worry about in my life at that time. One Saturday morning I was awoken from a sound sleep with an inner voice telling me to get up and go write something. I wasn’t real happy with that voice because it was my only day to sleep late. I ignored it and tried to go back to sleep, but the voice in my head  became stronger and more adamant. My heart began telling me I needed to find paper and pen. I was unable to sleep any longer. Feeling irritated, I got up, found paper and pen and went to the kitchen table. I wasn’t going to waste extra steps going to the computer. I was determined to prove my inability to put words to the paper. But as I put the pen to the paper words began to flow. Ideas for books came running to the forefront of my mind. One idea in  particular was quite intense. In only a few minutes, I had the main character, what he looked like, and the whole premise of the  book. I am sure my mouth hung open in disbelief. By early afternoon when my daughter returned from work, the very rough draft of the whole first chapter was complete.  I told her the story and read her my first chapter. Being a huge supporter of my writing, she was elated and told me I had to finish it. I agreed. We both knew without a doubt this was absolutely God’s doing. There was something so strange about this book which had leaped onto the pages of my tablet and into my mind. The main character was a male. I am female and had no males in my family besides my husband to draw upon. It was for older age readers and I only wrote for younger children. The character was going to deal with drug addiction to which I thankfully knew nothing about. The topic was foreign to me, yet I had to write this book. I knew and still know God wants me to write it. It took me a few years to write because of my husband’s  illness. There were months at a time I couldn’t get to it. But it is done now. I still don’t know what I am supposed to do with it or the reason behind the need to write it.  It’s really amazing that things I wrote in the book became similarities to my own life. It just wasn’t so at the time I wrote it.  I know it has to be published. I am going to pitch it as best I can to different publishers, but in the end, if I have to self publish it I will. I await your answer Lord.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lacey
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 16:19:31

    🙂 Not to mention the eerie similarities of the book to our life (especially mine) now. 🙂 LOVE YOU, MAMA!!

    Reply

  2. pclement
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 16:30:29

    Yes, except let’s make it known that you are not a drug addict.

    Reply

  3. Laurie Kolp
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 17:22:34

    Peggy~ I am so happy for you. I can’t wait to read it- I know it must be wonderful. Carol knows a lot about self-publishing so you might want to talk to her.
    ~Laurie

    Reply

  4. Lacey
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 20:29:07

    Haha…yeah. Well, it’s not COMPLETELY similar…lol

    Reply

  5. jess
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 22:48:13

    Don’t even think of self-publishing now. Try to find an agent and/or a reputable publisher. If God wants that book out there, then you need listen to His instruction. To me that means, pray over your book …pray that God opens the doors to reputable publishers and/or agents. You should get paid (rewarded) for your hard work–you shouldn’t have to pay someone to publish it. I’m very strongly against any author self-publishing. It should be done only as a LAST resort. Peggy, if God gives you a traditional publisher, then your book will reach bookstores across the country. If you self-pub, then you’re reaching a very small audience. Of course, it’s possible there is only one person God wants your message to reach. So you see the answer… never quit praying over this book. God will tell you what to do with it. And if I can help, just holler.

    Reply

    • pclement
      Apr 05, 2010 @ 19:09:15

      I don’t want to self-publish. For one thing, I am broke! lol but I am doing exactly that with this manuscript. I am praying over it and about it. Whatever God wants me to do I will do.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

