Busy Busy With Writing

I have been working very hard on my writing for the past month or so and proudly have something to show for it. I completed the short story for the writing contest as part of the East Texas Baptist University Writer’s Conference I will be attending next month. It turned out pretty well. I am proud of it. No matter if I place or not at competition, I feel satisfied that it will be read one day in  God’s choosing. I also finished my young adult novel.   Now, the hard part is left, all the revising and editing. It’s my first attempt at young adult writing. It was painful. This genre is not my forte, but it was a must write book. I’ll have to blog and tell you why I wrote it one day. Maybe I’ll make that my next blog entry. In one respect, writing is a lonely endeavor. You requires an awful lot of alone time. But the upside to it, is having met so many special friends who share the same interest. They are so caring and so supportive of your work. I would have never met these friends had it not been for our writer’s guild. If anyone has an interest in writing I strongly urge you to attend a meeting or even better, a writer’s conference. It’s an amazing place to meet your support system. I wish I could attend conferences every month to keep me informed and motivated. See the tags below this post for the three groups I belong to and check out their websites for more information.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. walkingaroundsense
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 19:11:41

    I can’t wait to hear more about your YA novel. I’m so thrilled that you finished it. You’re going to have a blast in Marshall — wish I was going with you but I’m headed in the opposite direction–Houma. YAs are hot right now so you need to pitch that book. Are you going to look for an agent? Try to sell it yourself or what? There are some great blogs by agents who handle YA books — is your targeting the Christian market or secular. I’m so excited for you–I can’t ask enough questions. Looking forward to your next post. OH! are you reading the BWG blog? http://www.bayouwritersgroup.blogspot.com
    Check it out and send me a blogpost for it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. walkingaroundsense
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 19:13:04

    Crumb! There I am posting under my husband’s blog again. I thought I’d signed out of his! 🙂

    Reply

  3. pclement
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 21:31:28

    Jess,
    I am going to email you about the YA book. And for my followers, Jess is one of my very special friends who conitinues to show her support for my writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

