And The Greatest Of These Was Love

One of the readings for our wedding was from 1 Corinthians 13. It’s read often at Catholic weddings. I had not read over that chapter in  some time to really let the words soak into my heart. It was a reading in church last night. As I listened to the words again it brought such a new meaning or reinforcement into my life. Now that I have been through the cycle of marriage “till death do us part”, I realize what a better person I am for having loved someone  like Randy. In our relationship there was no boasting, no jealousy, no putting on airs. Randy was such an easy person to love.  His kind spirit  and the love he showed others was contagious. He could show others, including myself, how to truly love. Although we had our share of lows and  worries, we didn’t brood over injuries. We pulled up our boot straps and continued along. And before I knew it, our life together was over. In the end, just as we are told in the Bible,  there were three things that lasted: faith, hope and love. And the greatest of these was love. Thank-you Ran, for showing me how to really have love.   Missing you…………

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lacey
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 17:42:50

    Watching you two love each other unconditionally has shown me what I want in a marriage one day. ♥

    Reply

  2. jess
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 12:53:12

    Beautiful post that once again brought tears to my eyes. I think you should try your hand at some devotionals. Ever thought about it?

    Reply

  3. Lacey
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 22:13:47

    I agree!! Mom, you’d be excellent at devotionals!

    Reply

  4. pclement
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 09:33:34

    Funny you should both say that. I just ordered a book that discusses that avenue. And thanks for the compliment. Love you both!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: 2010 in review « The Work of His Hands

Leave a Reply

