The Golden Ticket

Being a mom is such a great experience. Randy and I were so blessed to have two wonderful daughters. I thank God for them continuously. It’s funny how when we were in our twenties, first single and then newly married, it was a struggle financially to make ends meet . Neither Randy nor I was born with the “silver spoon in our mouth”.  But we made it and survived.  As I look at both of the girls, I can give them my unconditional love and support, but I wish that I could also give them the things they need financially. Lacey has several more years of school, wanting to continue to get her Master’s and then maybe her PhD to open a counseling center. Mindy has always wanted to open her own top-notch spa, doing the things she  trained for in Hollywood, Dallas, and New York. I would love nothing better than to give them the means financially to do those things. What joy it would bring me to just hand them a check to cover it all! (Not to mention the joy it would bring them.)  I know they will appreciate it more by working for it. I guess it’s natural to want more for your children than you had yourself.  I know they will make it. They are both “goal setters and go-getters”. In the meantime, I will close my blog, go to the corner store in the morning, and buy a lottery ticket. Wish me luck!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda G.
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 08:53:27

    Oh Peg,it’s a naural thing to want to give our children more ,,,,but think back ,,we all achieved our goals by living on a budget ,pinching penniesand working hard for the things we had ,it made us strong !!We never had it handed to us ,do you think we would have had a better life if we were given things and not worked for them and if we would not have set goals in our lives !!The biggest thing we can do for our children is to let them experience the satisfaction of working towards their goals !! Yall did a fantastic job with your girls and still are and they love yall so much ,they would not expect any help ,cause that’s how they were brought up ,,,the Right Way !! Love ya ,,Linda G.

    Reply

  2. Lacey
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 21:37:29

    You and dad have given us so much more than you can imagine!! Besides…it’ll mean a lot more if I gotta work for it. And, I’m gonna marry a rich doctor anyways…hahaha!

    Reply

  3. Laurie Kolp
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 13:41:50

    I know exactly how you feel, Peggy. As moms, we want to give our children everything, thinking it will make their lives easier; but sometimes not giving them everything makes their lives so much better. You are a great mom…can’t wait to see you again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

