Fire Ignited

I went to my writers’ guild meeting this week. I was hoping to get the fire ignited again after a writing lag with Christmas and then my daughter’s wedding. I bought the latest copies of writing magazines at the book store, read a few articles and asked my younger daughter to critique what I had written thus far on the novel I am working on. She is an excellent writer herself and gives me good critique of my work at hand. I must admit, I had spent so much time on the first three chapters that I forgot some of what was in the remaining chapters. This, by the way, is the book that God laid on my heart to write and  didn’t give me peace until I put the fingers to the keyboard. I told Lacey that I didn’t know why he chose for me to write this book. It’s main character is male and I’m not. He hits rock  bottom with drugs and alcohol. I never have used drugs and seldom drink.  It seems so foreign to me. But then Lacey reminded me that there is a reason and God knows what he is doing and I needed to stick with it. There are actually some parts of it that I had written that now coincidentally relate to our family. So taking her advice, I am going to do just that. One day, I may know the full reason why I  am to write this particular novel.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debra
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 20:25:11

    We didn’t choose this writing thing it chose us. God guides us to how we can better use our time talent and treasure. So writing is our destiny, yours and mine. And I sure enjoy your writing. I put you on my blog roll. Be blessed!

    Reply

  2. pclement
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 09:18:08

    You are so right Debra. It is our destiny.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

