Ring In The New

What can I say about 2009? I was on crutches for half of the year with  two knee surgeries.The biggest tragedy for me was that I lost my husband, the love of my life, and  the father of my children this year. Life will never be the same for any of us who knew Randy and loved him so much.

Despite that,there were some good moments. Mindy became engaged and is getting married next week. Lacey transferred to a university away from home and managed to keep a 4.0 average despite what our family was going through.  We found out how many friends we had when they came to comfort us during our time of sorrow.

I know that I am now needing to make changes in my life and I am ready to do just that. I plan to make 2010 a year that is about me for once. It’s never easy to leave our individual comfort zones. I have been a caretaker for so long that I have forgotten how to put myself first. But that is my New Year’s resolution. I am going to learn how. I plan to take care of myself more both mentally and physically. I am going to find my independence again and try to enjoy life expanding my writing career when I am not teaching. I”ll be honest. It’s a bit scary for me to think of doing this. I was part of a couple for thirty years. We always made decisions together. Now I have to do it on my own all of a sudden. But a new year is about new beginnings. I want to make the most of this coming year.

I wish you all a Happy New Year. May 2010 be everything you want it to be.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda G.
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 20:14:54

    This will be “Your” year !You are already off to a good start,keep that positive attitude and you’ll be a success,we all have Faith in you .God bless you and protect you !!”Happy New You Year “! Love ya ,,,Linda

    Reply

  2. pclement
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 22:58:20

    Thanks, Linda!

    Reply

  3. debra
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 18:07:33

    You are one strong lady. Stay centered in your faith and I know this is YOUR year. You will shine the brightest because you have been through the dark and came out on the other side. May God bless you and your family this year,
    Love Debra.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

