Hello world!

This is my very first attempt to have a blog. I must say, being as “technology challenged” as I am, I am pretty proud of myself. There is quite a bit of changes going on in my life, the biggest being losing my husband of thirty years recently. My world as I knew it stopped suddenly and I am now faced with the dilemma of how to go on without him. For those of you who know me well, you know that I am a writer. But I could not bring myself to write anymore. The desire  just wasn’t in me. But I knew I had to get back to it. Randy was so proud of my writing and would  not want me to stop. I went to The Golden Triangle Writer’s Guild conference last month, praying that I would find motivation to start again. I hobbled on crutches the whole time due to a knee injury/surgery but was determined to get back in the groove. At the award’s banquet the last night of the conference I won honorable mention on my contest entry for my young adult novel I had been working on. I took that as a hint from God that my writing days were not over and I should still use the talent he gave me, despite the heartache and loneliness I was feeling. So I am glad to say that yesterday I started working again on my young adult novel and hope to get it finished during my time of emotional and physical healing at home. I ask for your guidance Lord. I can’t do it without you. I know this is truly the work of his hands.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. liz lee
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 04:38:16

    Peggy, I am so happy for you for the GTW award. Congratulations! Yes, agree; I think it is a message from above that you should keep on keeping on! As you said, Randy was so proud of your writing, and he would want you to enjoy and do more. Love and Prayers, Liz

    Reply

  2. Carol
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 12:37:06

    Peggy this is great. I know Randy is so proud of you. Please continue to write the novels. That is your GOD GIVEN TALENT! (along with teaching). God Bless you on this journey thru life.

    Reply

  3. Laurie Kolp
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 12:46:24

    Peggy~ I am so proud of you for sticking to your passion for writing. You will find healing in your writing, I just know it. When my dear best friend committed suicide I was unable to write for a while, but when I did start writing again, my healing began. I wrote a lot about her death in my poetry and it really helped me. I love this blog. I’m going to put it on my blog list! Happy writing!

    Reply

  4. Peggy Meredith
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 18:12:34

    That is great Peggy. I have been thinking about starting a journal but just keep putting it off. I love you and keep you in my prayers.

    Reply

  5. Mindy
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 05:18:54

    Mom,
    I am SOOOO unbelivably proud of you!!! You are SUCH a talented writer and I am so excited to see where this talent and gift from God takes you. You have our undying love and support! You also KNOW that daddy is with you EVERY STEP of the way! Sorry we weren’t there with you when you won your writing award, but you KNOW daddy had FRONT ROW seats! :0)
    Never stop writing… it’s therapy for the soul!
    I love you,
    Min

    Reply

  6. Bonnie
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 15:20:32

    I am so proud of you. I didn’t know you won a prize for writing. I think that is only the beginning. I can’t wait to see you on the bestseller’s list.

    Love you. Keep writing!!!!

    I am also proud of you for this Blog Thing. Never saw this before!!!! You big Tech Girl!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

